Menu News Products Video Webinars White Papers EDU

Professor Receives Nils Gunnar Jerlov Award

PORTLAND, Maine, Aug. 7, 2014 — George W. Kattawar, a Texas A&M professor, has received The Oceanography Society’s 2014 Nils Gunnar Jerlov Award.

The annual award recognizes researchers who contribute to the advancement of understanding the nature and consequences of light in the ocean.

Kattawar’s research includes radiative transfer in planetary atmospheres and oceans with inclusion of polarization and high-resolution spectroscopic calculations, as well as theoretical studies of the interactions of femtosecond laser pulses with particles and absorption using an integrated cavity technique.

For more information, visit and

The ability to post comments on is one benefit of a FREE membership.

Please login or register, for FREE, to post comments:

Login Register

Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn RSS Mobile Apps
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.