Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Buyers' Guide Photonics EDU Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics EuroPhotonics Industrial Photonics Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook
More News
Email Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Comments

Daily News Briefs
Feb 2003
Randy Heyler, vice president of business development for Newport Corp., was appointed chairman of the Photonics Manufacturing Association Council (PMAC) 2003 steering committee. PMAC is part of the IPC-Association Connecting Electronics Industries, a Northbrook, Ill.-based trade association.   . . .   Several leaders in various photonics-related fields are among the 77 new members and nine foreign associates elected recently to The National Academy of Engineering.

New members include:

Rod C. Alferness, senior vice president, Optical Networking Research Div., Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies, for his contributions to the development of electro-optic devices and circuits for light-wave transmission and switching systems;

Stephen R. Forrest, chair and professor of electrical engineering, Princeton University, for advances in optoelectronic devices, detectors for fiber optics and efficient organic LEDs for displays;

Robert Q. Fugate, senior scientist for atmospheric compensation, Directed Energy Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory, for the experimental demonstration of laser beacons and the development of adaptive optical systems;

Karl G. Kempf, Intel Fellow and director, Decision Technologies, Intel Corp., for the development and implementation of control and decision systems that have improved the performance and cost-effectiveness of semiconductor manufacturing systems;

Debasis Mitra, vice president, mathematical sciences research, Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies, for contributions to the modeling, analysis and design of communication networks;

Thomas E. Romesser, vice president, technology development, TRW Space & Electronics Group, for pioneering contributions to high-power laser technology and isotope separation;

Henry Samueli, co-chairman and CTO, Broadcom Corp., for pioneering contributions to academic research and technology entrepreneurship in the broadband communications system-on-a-chip industry.

Stephen D. Senturia, professor of electrical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for contributions to and leadership in research on microelectromechanical systems;

Alan M. Title, principal physicist, solar and astrophysics department, Lockheed Martin Corp., for pioneering development of elegant optical systems that enable precise space-based studies of the sun; and

Eli Yablonovitch, professor, electrical engineering department, University of California, Los Angeles, for introducing photonic bandgap engineering and applying semiconductor concepts to electromagnetic waves in artificial periodic structures.

New foreign associates include:

Shuji Nakamura, professor of materials, University of California, Santa Barbara, for contributions to optoelectronic engineering of gallium-nitride materials, culminating in the development of violet/blue lasers and light-emitting diodes; and

Evgeny P. Velikhov, president, Russian Research Center Kurchatov Institute, Moscow, for pioneering work in plasma physics, controlled nuclear fusion and gas lasers and for advancing international scientific cooperation.

CommunicationsConsumerenergyindustrialNews BriefsPhotonics Tech BriefsSensors & Detectors

Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy About Us Contact Us
back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2018 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA,

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.