Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Buyers' Guide Photonics EDU Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics EuroPhotonics Industrial Photonics Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook
More News
Email Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Comments

National Science Board Members Appointed
Dec 2004
ARLINGTON, Va., Dec. 8 -- The president on Nov. 29 appointed eight new members to the National Science Board (NSB), the 24-member policy and oversight body for the National Science Foundation (NSF) and advisor to the president and Congress on science and engineering issues. Arden L Bement Jr. was appointed NSF's new director on Nov. 24.

The new NSB members, whose terms last until May 2010, include: Steven C. Beering (second term), president emeritus, Purdue University, and first-term appointees Dan Arvizu, a CEO at CH2M Hill Companies Ltd. and executive director for energy and technologies at the University of Chicago; G. Wayne Clough, president, Georgia Institute of Technology; Kelvin K. Droegemeier, professor of meteorology and director of the Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms at the University of Oklahoma; Louis J. Lanzerotti, distinguished professor of physics at the New Jersey Institute of Technology; Alan I. Leshner, CEO, American Association for the Advancement of Science; Jon Strauss, president, Harvey Mudd College in Claremont, Calif.; and Kathryn D. Sullivan, president and CEO, Center of Science and Industry, Columbus, Ohio.

The members will be sworn in at an NSB board meeting, Dec. 15-16 at NSF headquarters in Arlington, Va. Public sessions for NSB committees and task forces are scheduled in rooms 1235 and 1295.

For more information, visit:

National Science BoardNational Science FoundationNews & FeaturesNSBNSFscience and engineering

Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy About Us Contact Us
back to top

Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2018 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA,
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.