Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Buyers' Guide Photonics EDU Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics EuroPhotonics Industrial Photonics Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook
More News
Email Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Comments

OSA Elects VP, 3 Directors at Large
Oct 2011
SAN JOSE, Calif., Oct. 20, 2011 — Members of The Optical Society (OSA) have elected Philip H. Bucksbaum as its 2012 vice president, the organization announced at Frontiers in Optics 2011 this week. Three directors at large also were chosen during the election.

By accepting the vice presidency, Bucksbaum of Stanford University has made a four-year commitment to OSA’s board of directors. In that role, he automatically will become president-elect in 2013 and president in 2014, followed by a one-year term as past president. He has served as an active member of OSA for more than 20 years, including holding leadership roles on several conference program committees and technical meetings as well as serving on the board.

OSA also announced the appointment of three directors at large: James D. Kafka of Spectra-Physics, Byoung Yoon Kim of the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, and Jun Ye of the US National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and the University of Colorado.

Along with Bucksbaum, the new directors at large will begin their terms on Jan. 1, 2012, replacing three outgoing members of the board of directors. They will hold their positions for three years.

For more information, visit:  

AmericasBusinessByoung Yoon KimCaliforniadirectors at large appointmentsEmploymentFrontiers in OpticsJames D. KafkaJun YeKorea Advanced Institute of Science and TechnologyNISTOptical SocietyopticsOSAPhilip BucksbaumSpectra-PhysicsStanford UniversityUniversity of ColoradoUS National Institute of Standards and Technologyvice presidency appointment

Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy About Us Contact Us
back to top

Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2018 Photonics Media
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.