Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Buyers' Guide Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics EuroPhotonics Vision Spectra Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook
More News

2004 SPIE Awards Announced

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email Comments
BELLINGHAM, Wash., April 1 -- The International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE) has announced the recipients of the 2004 SPIE awards, which will be presented at a banquet on August 4 during SPIE's 49th annual meeting, to be held August 3-5 at the Denver Marriott City Center, Denver.

Roland V. Shack, professor emeritus of optical sciences at the University of Arizona Optical Sciences Center (OSC), has received the society's highest honor, the 2004 Gold Medal (see Daily News Briefs, March 30), for his contributions to the optics field.

Francis T. S. Yu, professor of electrical engineering at Pennsylvania State University, is the 2004 Dennis Gabor Award recipient for his contributions to partially coherent and white-light signal processing, holography and optical correlators.

Juan L. Rayces, of J. L. Rayces Consulting Inc., in Tucson, Ariz., has received The A. E. Conrady Award (see Daily News Briefs, March 31) in recognition of his contributions in design, construction and testing of optical systems and instrumentation.

James R. Janesick, of Sarnoff Corp., is the recipient of the 2004 SPIE Educator Award for educating thousands of engineers and scientists on the physics and application of CCD and CMOS imaging arrays. Janesick has written more than 75 publications on CCDs, including many NASA Tech Briefs, and holds 12 patents for various CCD innovations. During his 22 years at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, he focused on scientific CCDs and support electronics used in many NASA spaceborne imaging systems, including the Hubble Space Telescope and the Galileo and Cassini projects.
Burn J. Lin, senior director of the micro-patterning division of Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company Ltd., Taiwan, received The Frits Zernike Award for Microlithography for achievements in the theory, practice and extension of optical lithography.

R. Clark Jones is the 2004 recipient of the G.G. Stokes Award for lifetime achievement in the field of optical polarization. Jones has made influential and enduring contributions to the field. The Jones calculus was introduced and developed in an important series of papers published between 1941 and 1956. This mathematical method for dealing with and understanding polarized light is required learning for students and many new students of optics and is still an important tool for scientists who work with polarization in a wide variety of fields.

Ivan Bozovic, a senior scientist with the Materials Science Department at the US Department of Energy's Brookhaven National Laboratory, received the 2004 Technology Achievement Award for constructing a next-generation molecular beam epitaxy oxide system and for developing a technology to deposit atomically smooth films and multilayers of complex oxides.

The deadline for nominations for the 2005 SPIE awards is Oct. 1.

Thirty-three new SPIE Fellows will also be honored at the annual meeting. For a full list of SPIE Fellows and for nomination information, visit:
Apr 2004
2004 SPIE awardsBasic ScienceindustrialInternational Society for Optical EngineeringNews & FeaturesSPIESPIE Fellows

back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2020 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA,

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.