Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Marketplace Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics Vision Spectra Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook

2010 Wolf Prize Winners Announced

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email
JERUSALEM, Feb. 16, 2010 – Three scientists will share the 2010 Wolf Foundation Prize in Physics for their contributions to the foundation of quantum physics, specifically for an increasingly sophisticated series of tests of Bell’s inequalities or extensions there of using entangled quantum states.

John Clauser of J. F. Clauser & Associates, United States; Alain Aspect, Institut d'Optique, Campus Polytechnique, France; and Anton Zeilinger, University of Vienna and the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria, will share this prestigious scientific award for “achievements in the interest of mankind and friendly relations among peoples, irrespective of nationality, race, color, religion, sex, or political view."

The puzzling properties of entangled quantum states, first noted by Einstein, Podolsky and Rosen, who suspected that quantum mechanics is not a complete theory, were dramatically delineated by the work of John Bell. Bell showed that certain statistical correlations between properties of two physically separated particles, which were produced in an entangled quantum state, cannot be explained by any theory of local deterministic processes even if other unobserved properties (‘hidden variables’) are allowed for.

The series of experiments on quantum correlated photons recognized by this award were initiated by the work Clauser, Aspect and Zeilinger, who showed how to apply Bell’s inequalities to a specific experimental situation, in which two entangled photons were produced and correlations between their properties measured in two separated detectors. This ground breaking experiment demonstrated an agreement with the quantum prediction and excluded any local deterministic theory. The results paved the way for research into quantum information and the development of technologies such as quantum cryptography and quantum calculation.

Since 1978, five or six prizes have been awarded annually in the fields of agriculture, chemistry, mathematics, medicine, physics and the arts. To date, a total of 253 scientists and artists from 23 countries have been honored. Laureates receive their awards from the President of the State of Israel on May 13, 2010 at the Knesset.

For more information, visit:
Feb 2010
A unit of energy equal to the amount of energy absorbed by one molecule of material undergoing a photochemical reaction, as determined by the Stark-Einstein law.
quantum optics
The area of optics in which quantum theory is used to describe light in discrete units or "quanta" of energy known as photons. First observed by Albert Einstein's photoelectric effect, this particle description of light is the foundation for describing the transfer of energy (i.e. absorption and emission) in light matter interaction.
Alain AspectAmericaAmericasAnton ZeilingerAustriaBasic ScienceBusinessEinsteinentangled quantum statesEuropeFranceJohn BellJohn Clauserlight sourcesMiddle Eastopticsphotonsquantum opticsquantum physicsSensors & DetectorsWolf FoundationWolf Prize in Physicslasers

back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2023 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA, [email protected]

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.