Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Marketplace Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics Vision Spectra Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook

Bell Labs Researcher Wins Tyndall Award

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email
PARIS, Jan. 28, 2010 - Alcatel-Lucent has announced that Dr. Randy Giles, director of the optical subsystems and advanced photonics department at Bell Laboratories, has received the 2010 John Tyndall Award, one of the most prestigious commendations in the optical telecommunications community.

The award, sponsored by the Optical Society of America (OSA) and the IEEE Photonics Society, recognizes Giles for “seminal contributions to advanced lightwave communications networks.”

These contributions include his work with erbium-doped fiber amplifiers, fiber Bragg grating-based subsystems and MEMS cross-connects.

Named for the 19th-century scientist who first demonstrated the phenomenon of total internal reflection, the Tyndall Award recognizes an individual who has made pioneering, highly significant or continuing technical or leadership contributions to fiber optics technology.

Of the 24 Tyndall Awards given since the program’s inception in 1987, nearly half have been accorded scientists who made their discoveries and innovations while at Bell Labs. Other Tyndall Award winners from Bell Labs include Joe C. Campbell, Robert W. Tkach and Emmanuel Desurvire.

Giles is a graduate of the universities of Victoria and Alberta, both in Canada. Before joining Bell Labs in 1986, he worked on Nortel’s first gigabit optical transmission system. In 2008, he was honored by the Finnish government as Millennium Technology Prize laureate for development of the erbium-doped fiber amplifier. He won the Fraunhofer Award & Burley Prize in 2004 and was presented the Discover Award in 2000 for the invention of the MEMS-based optical cross-connect switch.

For more information, visit:
Jan 2010
Alcatel-LucentAmericasBell LaboratoriesBusinessCommunicationsDiscover AwardEmmanuel Desurvireerbium-doped fiber amplifierfiber Bragg gratingfiber opticsFraunhofer Award & Burley PrizeIEEE Photonics SocietyJoe C. CampbellJohn Tyndall AwardMEMSMillennium Technology PrizeNortelOptical Society of AmericaopticsOSARandy GilesRobert W. TkachUniversity of AlbertaUniversity of Victoria

back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2023 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA, [email protected]

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.