Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Buyers' Guide Photonics EDU Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics EuroPhotonics Industrial Photonics Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook
More News
Email Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Comments

Charles Stark Draper Prize Awarded to Fiber Pioneers
Oct 1999
WASHINGTON, Oct. 12 -- The National Academy of Engineering has awarded the 1999 Charles Stark Draper Prize to three major figures in the development of fiber optics -- Charles K. Kao, Robert D. Maurer, and John B. MacChesney.
Kao theorized about how to use light for communication instead of bulky copper wire while working at ITT's Standard Telecommunications Laboratories in the 1960s. In 1970, Maurer headed a team of Corning Inc. researchers that designed and produced the first optical fiber. Four years later, MacChesney and his colleagues at AT&T Bell Laboratories -- now Lucent Technologies -- developed the Modified Chemical Vapor Deposition process, which allows for the mass production of optical fiber.

Communicationsfiber opticsNews & Features

Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy About Us Contact Us
back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2019 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA,

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.