Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Buyers' Guide Photonics EDU Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics EuroPhotonics Industrial Photonics Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook
More News
Email Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Comments

National Science Board Members Appointed
Dec 2004
ARLINGTON, Va., Dec. 8 -- The president on Nov. 29 appointed eight new members to the National Science Board (NSB), the 24-member policy and oversight body for the National Science Foundation (NSF) and advisor to the president and Congress on science and engineering issues. Arden L Bement Jr. was appointed NSF's new director on Nov. 24.

The new NSB members, whose terms last until May 2010, include: Steven C. Beering (second term), president emeritus, Purdue University, and first-term appointees Dan Arvizu, a CEO at CH2M Hill Companies Ltd. and executive director for energy and technologies at the University of Chicago; G. Wayne Clough, president, Georgia Institute of Technology; Kelvin K. Droegemeier, professor of meteorology and director of the Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms at the University of Oklahoma; Louis J. Lanzerotti, distinguished professor of physics at the New Jersey Institute of Technology; Alan I. Leshner, CEO, American Association for the Advancement of Science; Jon Strauss, president, Harvey Mudd College in Claremont, Calif.; and Kathryn D. Sullivan, president and CEO, Center of Science and Industry, Columbus, Ohio.

The members will be sworn in at an NSB board meeting, Dec. 15-16 at NSF headquarters in Arlington, Va. Public sessions for NSB committees and task forces are scheduled in rooms 1235 and 1295.

For more information, visit:

National Science BoardNational Science FoundationNews & FeaturesNSBNSFscience and engineering

Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy About Us Contact Us
back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2018 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA,

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.