Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Marketplace Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics Vision Spectra Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook

OSA Award Winners Announced

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email
The Optical Society (OSA) has named the 2014 recipients of its awards and medals.

“This year’s awardees have made incredible contributions to optics and photonics in everything from attosecond science to photonic crystals,” said Philip Bucksbaum, president of OSA. “They represent the very best and brightest in the field, and OSA is proud to recognize these individuals for their unwavering commitment, innovation and leadership.”

Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus Quinn Prize: Paul B. Corkum (University of Ottawa and Canada’s National Research Council), for outstanding contributions to the foundation of the fields of attosecond science, high-harmonic spectroscopy and molecular optics.

Esther Hoffman Beller Medal: Shin-Tson Wu (University of Central Florida), for his broad and significant impact to academia and industry in photonics education through mentoring, textbooks, publications, seminars and on-site training courses.

Max Born Award: Costas Soukoulis (Iowa State University), for creative and outstanding theoretical and experimental research in the fields of photonic crystals and left-handed metamaterials, and for novel applications of these materials to manipulate electromagnetic radiation.

Stephen D. Fantone Distinguished Service Award: Anthony J. Campillo (OSA), for sustained leadership, vision and outstanding dedication to the quality and impact of OSA publications.

Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award: Rebecca Richards-Kortum (Rice University), for exceptional contributions to advancing the applications of optics in disease diagnosis and inspiring work in disseminating low-cost health technologies to the developing world.

Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize: Juan Carlos Miñano (Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain), for the discovery of exceptional new design methods and devices in both nonimaging and imaging optics over more than three decades, with special emphasis in free-form surface design.

Joseph W. Goodman Book Writing Award: WenshanCai (Georgia Institute of Technology) and Vladimir M. Shalaev (Purdue University), for their book Optical Metamaterials: Fundamentals and Applications (Springer, 2010).

Nick Holonyak Jr. Award: Ching Tang (University of Rochester), for discovery of efficient thin-film organic light-emitting diodes, which has led to novel display and lighting products.

Robert E. Hopkins Leadership Award: Robert P. Breault (Breault Research Organization Inc.), for pioneering leadership in the formation of global optics industry clusters.

Edwin H. Land Medal: Mathias Fink (ÉcoleSupérieure de Physique et Chimie Industrielle de Paris, France), for seminal investigations of time reversal of ultrasonic waves with applications to imaging and therapy.

Sang Soo Lee Award: Mario Garavaglia (Centro de Investigaciones Opticas, Argentina), for his key role in the development of optics and photonics research and education in Argentina.

Emmett N. Leith Medal: Adam Kozma (1928-2014). He is being recognized posthumously for seminal contributions to optical information processing of radar data and holographic memories.

Ellis R. Lippincott Award: Andrei Tokmakoff (University of Chicago), for innovations in 2-D IR spectroscopy and its application to molecular structure and dynamics, especially in complex aqueous and biomolecular systems.

Adolph Lomb Medal: Alexander Szameit (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität, Germany), for groundbreaking contributions to linear and nonlinear light evolution in photonic lattices, and photonic simulations of quantum, solid state and relativistic phenomena.

William F. Meggers Award: François Biraben (Laboratoire Kastler Brossel, France), for outstanding achievements in high-resolution atomic spectroscopy and metrology of fundamental constants, leading to far-reaching tests of quantum electrodynamics.

David Richardson Medal: Jannick P. Rolland (University of Rochester), for visionary contributions and leadership in optical design and engineering, enabling noninvasive optical biopsy.

Edgar D. Tillyer Award: Suzanne P. McKee (Smith-Kettlewell Eye Research Institute), for contributions to fundamental understanding of visual motion and of normal and abnormal human stereo vision, revealing the limits and character of brain mechanisms responsible for the perception of depth.

Charles H. Townes Award: Masataka Nakazawa (Tohoku University, Japan), for seminal contributions to the science and applications of ultrafast optics and ultrastable narrow-linewidth lasers.

R.W. Wood Prize: Michael Bass (University of Central Florida), for the discovery of optical rectification, which led to the development of very wide band terahertz wave sources.

For more information, visit:

Photonics Spectra
Jun 2014
The science of measurement, particularly of lengths and angles.
AmericasBiophotonicsBusinessCommunicationsDavid Richardson MedalenergyEuropeFrederic Ives Medallight speedMax Born AwardmetrologyMichael S. Feld Biophotonics AwardMicroscopynanoopticsR.W. Wood PrizeResearch & Technologyservice awardspectroscopyultrafast opticsquantum phenomenalasers

back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2023 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA, [email protected]

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x Subscribe to Photonics Spectra magazine - FREE!
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.