Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Marketplace Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics EuroPhotonics Vision Spectra Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook

OSA Elevates 66 to Fellow Members

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email Comments
WASHINGTON, Dec. 19, 2011 — The board of directors of the Optical Society (OSA) announced that 66 OSA members were selected as the newest class of OSA fellows. The newly appointed fellows will be recognized individually at meetings throughout 2012.

Fellows are selected on a variety of criteria, such as record of significant publications or patents related to optics, achievements in optics, management ability, and service to OSA or the global optics community. Any regular OSA member who has contributed to the advancement of optics and photonics is eligible for election. Drawing from nominations from current fellows, OSA’s Fellows Members Committee recommends candidates to the board of directors. No more than 10 percent of the total OSA membership can be named fellows.

This year’s class represents 14 countries on four continents, with more than 42 percent residing outside of the US.

The 2012 fellow members are:

From businesses: 

    • Jin-Xing Cai, TE Subsea Communications, US 
    • Sethumadhaven Chandrasekhar, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent, US 
    • David N. Fittinghoff, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, US 
    • E. Joseph Friebele, Naval Research Laboratory, US 
    • Valentin P. Gapontsev, IPG Photonics, US 
    • Douglas P. Holcomb, LGS Innovations, US 
    • Mary Lou Jepsen, Pixel Qi Corp., Taiwan 
    • Wilhelm G. Kaenders, Toptica Photonics AG, Germany 
    • Randall James Knize, US Air Force Academy, US 
    • Henri J. Lezec, NIST, US 
    • Lenore McMackin, Inview Technology Corp., US 
    • Edward I. Moses, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, US 
    • Sae Woo Nam, NIST, US 
    • Daniel R. Neal, Abbott Laboratories, US 
    • Nathan R. Newbury, NIST, US 
    • Alan C. Nilsson, Infinera, US 
    • Isao Noda, Procter & Gamble Co., US 
    • Loukas Paraschis, Cisco Systems, US 
    • Stephen M. Pompea, National Optical Astronomy Observatory, US
    • Wei Shi, NP Photonics Inc., US 
    • Ann Von Lehmen, Telcordia, US 
    • Stanley E. Whitcomb, LIGO, US 
    • Peter J. Winzer, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent, US

From institutions: 

    • Ali Adibi, Georgia Institute of Technology, US 
    • Ishwar D. Aggarwal, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, US 
    • John Ballato, Clemson University, US 
    • Harold E. Bedell, University of Houston College of Optometry, US 
    • Joss Bland-Hawthorn, University of Sydney, Australia 
    • Benoît Boulanger, Joseph Fourier University, Institut Néel, France 
    • Kurt Busch, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany 
    • Lawrence R. Chen, McGill University, Canada 
    • Stephen Y. Chou, Princeton University, US 
    • Mark D. Fairchild, Rochester Institute of Technology, US 
    • Jason W. Fleischer, Princeton University, US 
    • A. Mark Fox, University of Sheffield, UK 
    • Philip Hemmer, Texas A&M University, US 
    • Minghui Hong, National University of Singapore, Singapore 
    • Magnus Karlsson, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden 
    • Hao-chung Kuo, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan 
    • Yinchieh Lai, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan 
    • Fredrik Laurell, Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan, Sweden 
    • Kevin K. Lehmann, University of Virginia, US 
    • Miguel Levy, Michigan Technological University, US 
    • Xingde Li, Johns Hopkins University, US 
    • Luis M. Liz-Marzan, University of Vigo, US 
    • Michel Meunier, Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal, Canada 
    • Sergey B. Mirov, University of Alabama at Birmingham, US 
    • Jesper Moerk, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark 
    • Fiorenzo G. Omenetto, Tufts University, US 
    • Miles Padgett, University of Glasgow, UK 
    • Adrian Podoleanu, University of Kent, UK 
    • Clifford R. Pollock, Cornell University, US 
    • Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop, University of Queensland, Australia 
    • Colin J.R. Sheppard, National University of Singapore, Singapore 
    • Michael Shur, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, US 
    • Dmitry V. Skryabin, University of Bath, UK 
    • Sergei K. Turitsyn, Aston University, UK 
    • Réal Vallée, Centre d’Optique Photonique et Lasers, Canada 
    • Niek F. van Hulst, ICFO-Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain 
    • David M. Villeneuve, National Research Council of Canada, Canada 
    • Alex Vitkin, University of Toronto, Canada 
    • Willem L. Vos, Universiteit Twente, Netherlands 
    • Vladislav V. Yakovlev, Texas A&M University, US 
    • Vladimir Zakharov, University of Arizona, US 
    • Zeev Zalevsky, Bar-Ilan University, Israel 
    • Shining Zhu, Nanjing University, China

Specific information on each new fellow can be found on the Awards and Grants section of the OSA website.

For more information, visit:
Dec 2011
The scientific observation of celestial radiation that has reached the vicinity of Earth, and the interpretation of these observations to determine the characteristics of the extraterrestrial bodies and phenomena that have emitted the radiation.
AmericasastronomyBasic ScienceBusinessCommunicationsEuropeglobal opticsopticspatents

back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2020 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA, [email protected]

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.