OSA Fellows Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Facebook X LinkedIn Email
Two fellows of The Optical Society (OSA) have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in recognition of their contributions to physics and engineering sciences and technologies. They are among 276 new members, including scientists, scholars, artists, and leaders in the public, nonprofit, and private sectors.

Following are the OSA fellows elected to the American Academy of Arts and Science this year:
  • Michal Lipson is the Eugene Higgins Professor at Columbia University. She completed her B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in physics in the Technion in 1998. Following a postdoctoral position at MIT in the Material Science Department from 1998 to 2001, she joined the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Cornell University and was named the Given Foundation Professor of Engineering at the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering in 2012. In 2015, she joined the electrical engineering department at Columbia University. Lipson, one of the pioneers of the field of silicon photonics, received The Optical Society’s R.W. Wood prize in 2016.
  • Teri Odom is the Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry, associate chair of the Chemistry Department, professor of materials science and engineering, and associate director of the International Institute of Nanotechnology (IIN) at Northwestern University. She is an expert in designing structured nanoscale materials that exhibit extraordinary size and shape-dependent optical properties. Odom received her B.S. in chemistry from Stanford University, and her Ph.D. in chemical physics from Harvard University under the guidance of Charles M. Lieber. She conducted postdoctoral research at Harvard with George M. Whitesides before joining the faculty at Northwestern University. Odom is also an OSA senior member.

Michal Lipson (left) and Teri Odom (right). Courtesy of OSA.

According to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, “Current academy members represent today’s innovative thinkers in every field and profession, including more than 250 Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners.”

Published: May 2020
BusinessOSAAmerican Academy of Arts and SciencesColumbia UniversityCornell Universitysilicon photonicsR.W. Wood PrizeNorthwestern Universitynanoscale materialsinternational institute of nanotechnologyStanford UniversityHarvard Universitylight speed

We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.