Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Buyers' Guide Photonics EDU Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics EuroPhotonics Industrial Photonics Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook
More News
Email Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Comments

OSA names award recipients for 2013

May 2013
Biophotonics figures prominently in the work honored by The Optical Society (OSA) this year.

“This year’s [17] awardees have made tremendous strides in furthering the science and technology of light and deserve every accolade,” said OSA President Donna Strickland. “OSA is proud to honor these committed individuals for their leadership and innovation in the field of optics around the world.”

The awardees whose work specifically relates to biophotonics include:

• The Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award was given to Brian C. Wilson of the University of Toronto for his sustained contributions to the field spanning more than 30 years and encompassing research, technology development, clinical translation, and training and education, in the areas of light dosimetry; photodynamic therapy fluorescence; and Raman endoscopy, microscopy and nanophotonics.

• Wade Thomas Cathey Jr. of the University of Colorado at Boulder is this year’s Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize recipient. The award, which recognizes research accomplishments in the field of optical engineering, is for Cathey’s contributions to the field of computational optical imaging and its commercial application.

• Pablo Artal of the University of Murcia in Spain received the Edwin H. Land Medal for his scientific contributions to the advancement of diagnostic and correction alternatives in visual optics. The award recognizes pioneering work empowered by scientific research to create inventions, technologies and products and is co-sponsored with the Society for Imaging Science and Technology.

• Sunny X. Xie has received the Ellis R. Lippincott Award, co-sponsored with the Coblentz Society and the Society for Applied Spectroscopy, for contributions to vibrational spectroscopy. Xie, of Harvard University, is recognized for his contributions to the development of nonlinear vibrational imaging, including coherent anti-Stokes Raman and stimulated Raman scattering microscopy, and its applications to medicine, biology and chemistry.

awardsBasic ScienceBiophotonicsBrian C. WilsonBusinessDonna StricklandHarvardMicroscopyOSAPablo ArtalRapidScanSpainSunny X. XieThe Optical SocietyUniversity of ColoradoUniversity of MurciaUniversity of TorontoWade Thomas Cathey Jr.

Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy About Us Contact Us
back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2019 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA,

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x Subscribe to BioPhotonics magazine - FREE!
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.