Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Marketplace Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics Vision Spectra Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook

Photonics, Communication Innovators Inducted Into National Inventors Hall of Fame

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email
ALEXANDRIA, Va., Feb. 21, 2018 — Fifteen inventors whose innovations range from OLED displays to communication enhancements will be honored as the newest class of inductees in the National Inventors Hall of Fame (NIHF), in partnership with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

“I am thrilled to join such an inspiring organization that honors the past and challenges the future,” said Steven Van Slyke, 2018 inductee and co-inventor of the OLED. “I am honored that Ching Tang and I are receiving this recognition. I am even more humbled to stand alongside my fellow National Inventors Hall of Fame Inductees who have made the world better through their world-changing innovations.”

Chemists Ching Wan Tang and Van Slyke pioneered the OLED for flat-screen displays found in computers, cellphones and televisions, providing increased power efficiency, longer battery life and improved display quality.

Sumita Mitra, a chemist at 3M Co., invented the first dental filling material to include nanoparticles. The new composite filling material, Filtek Supreme Universal Restorative, is a versatile material that could be used for restoring teeth in any area of the mouth. It mimics the beauty of natural teeth, has high polish retention and exhibits superior strength than existing dental composites. The product line has been used in more than 600 million dental restorations worldwide, according to 3M.

Arogyaswami Paulraj’s wireless technology has revolutionized broadband wireless Internet access for billions of people worldwide. MIMO (Multiple-Input Multiple-Output) improves both transmission data rates and expands network coverage. It is the essential foundation for all current and future broadband wireless communications.

A pioneer in the field of sports television graphics, Stan Honey has transformed the viewing experience of millions of sports fans through the Virtual Yellow 1st & Ten line – hailed as one of the most important developments in the history of sports broadcast technology. Work conducted by Honey and his team led to other graphic enhancements in sports including baseball, hockey, NASCAR and sailing.

These inductees and the rest of their class will be honored at “The Greatest Celebration of American Innovation,” a two-day event held in Washington D.C. on May 3. Mo Rocca, “CBS Sunday Morning” correspondent and host of “The Henry Ford's Innovation Nation,” will serve as master of ceremonies.

The NIHF is a nonprofit organization dedicated to recognizing inventors and invention, promoting creativity and advancing the spirit of innovation and entrepreneurship in the U.S. Founded in 1973 in partnership with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, the NIHF is committed to honoring inventors and ensuring American ingenuity through national, hands-on educational programming and collegiate competitions focused on the exploration of science, technology, engineering and mathematics. The National Inventors Hall of Fame Museum is a Smithsonian Affiliate.
Jan 2018
BusinessNational Inventors Hall of FameU.S. Patent and Trademark OfficeOLEDsLEDsSteven Van SlykeChing Wan TangDisplaysSumita MitrananomaterialsArogyaswami PaulrajCommunicationslight sourcesStan Honeyawardspeople

back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2023 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA, [email protected]

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.