Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Buyers' Guide Photonics EDU Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics EuroPhotonics Industrial Photonics Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook
More News
Email Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Comments

Daily News Briefs
Jul 2005
QuantumSphere Inc., a Costa Mesa, Calif., manufacturer of metallic nanopowders for applications in aerospace, defense, energy, biomedical and other markets, announced the appointment of Kimberly McGrath to the position of director of fuel cell research. QuantumSphere is the only supplier of metallic nanomaterials and other proprietary alloys that will replace platinum as the main catalyst in hydrogen fuel cells and other electrode assemblies and provide a renewable source of power to supply the world's energy needs. McGrath will work with QuantumSphere's research team to synthesize and characterize a highly optimized catalyst composition for PEM and DMFC fuel cell anode and cathode electrodes using the company's metallic nanopowders. McGrath will also tailor catalysts for various cell types and operating temperature regimes and design new fuel cell systems for small, portable applications that will be efficient at room temperature with minimal catalyst loading.   . . .    Eastman Kodak Co. announced today that its board of directors has elected Sandra Morris and Jeff Jacobson as vice presidents of the company, effective immediately. Morris, 51, joined Kodak as vice president and general manager, Digital Imaging Services Group in May 2005. She is responsible for driving growth of the Kodak Easyshare Gallery as well as expanding the Kodak Mobil Service. Jacobson, 45, is chief operating officer for Kodak's Graphic Communications Group and president of the Graphic Solutions & Services business. He joined Kodak following the company's acquisition of Kodak Polychrome Graphics (KPG) in April 2005.   

Sensors Unlimited team members nominated for DARPA Tech Award 2005 (left to right): Tom Sudol, Michael Bush, Robert M. Brubaker, Timothy Bakker, Martin H. Ettenberg, Vincent Burzi, Kenneth Loesser, Michael Blessinger and Eric Dziekonski. Not shown: Joseph Groppe.

A team from Sensors Unlimited Inc., a Princeton, N.J., manufacturer of short-wave infrared sensors, near-infrared imaging systems and indium gallium arsenide detector technology, has been nominated for the 2005 Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Significant Technical Achievement Award. The winner will be announced during DARPA Tech 2005 in Anaheim, Calif., in August. DARPA recognizes individuals and organizations that have helped it succeed in its mission to bridge the gap between fundamental discoveries and their military uses.

CommunicationsDARPADARPA Tech 2005defenseJacobsonKodakMcGrathMorrisnanopowdersNews BriefsPhotonics Tech BriefsQuantumSphereSensors & DetectorsSensors Unlimited

Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy About Us Contact Us
back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2019 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA,

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.