Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Buyers' Guide Photonics EDU Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics EuroPhotonics Industrial Photonics Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook
More News
Email Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Comments

Capasso Receives Czochralski Award
Oct 2011
CAMBRIDGE, Mass., Oct. 12, 2011 — Federico Capasso of the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences has been awarded the 2011 Jan Czochralski Award. Capasso is the Robert L. Wallace Professor of Applied Physics and Vinton Hayes Senior Research Fellow in Electrical Engineering.

The award is named for Jan Czochralski, a Polish scientist known for his discovery of the technology for growing single crystals, now known as the Czochralski method. Taking into account the merits of this process for materials science, technology transfer to industry, and international collaboration, the European Materials Research Society established the award.

Federico Capasso, a researcher who has been widely honored for his interdisciplinary research in fields such as materials science, solid-state physics, electronics and photonics, has received the 2011 Jan Czochralski Award. (Image: Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences)

The society selected Capasso for his lifetime achievements in the field of advanced materials science.

His research in nanoscale science and technology has covered a broad range of topics, starting with study of bandgap engineering of artificially structured semiconductor materials and devices. In 1994, this research culminated in the invention and demonstration of quantum cascade lasers by Capasso and his group at Bell Labs. Capasso showed that by varying the thickness of layers in the active region, it is possible to select the wavelength at which a quantum cascade laser will emit light, customizing it for a specific application.

Other highlights of his research include the investigation of the Casimir effect (the attraction between any pair of macroscopic bodies due to quantum fluctuations of vacuum) and, in particular, the first measurement of a repulsive Casimir. He has also worked on plasmonics, demonstrating laser antennas capable of creating high-intensity nanoscale light spots for optical recording and highly collimated beams.

Past recipients of the Jan Czochralski Award include Walter Heywang, former director of research for Siemens; Boris Paton, the long-term president of the Ukraine National Academy of Science; Thaddeus B. Massalski, professor at Carnegie Mellon University; Shuji Nakamura, professor at the University of California; Kurt Heinz Juergen Buschow, professor at the University of Amsterdam; Hermann Grimmeiss, professor at the University of Lund; and Mildred Dresselhaus, professor at MIT.

For a recent talk given by Capasso on quantum cascade lasers, see: The Future of Lasers: Two Perspectives

For more information, visit:  

2011 Jan Czochralski AwardAmericasBasic ScienceBell LabsBoris PatonBusinessCarnegie Mellon UniversityCasimir effectE-MRSEuropean Materials Research SocietyFederico CapassoHarvard School of Engineering and Applied SciencesHermann GrimmeissJan CzochralskiKurt Heinz Juergen Buschowlaser antennaMassachusettsMaterials & Chemicalsmaterials scienceMildred DresselhausMITopticsplasmonicsQC lasersquantum cascade lasersRobert L. Wallace Professor of Applied PhysicsSEASShuji NakamuraSiemensThaddeus B. MassalskiUkraine National Academy of ScienceUniversity of AmsterdamUniversity of CaliforniaUniversity of LundVinton Hayes Senior Research Fellow in Electrical EngineeringWalter Heywanglasers

Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy About Us Contact Us
back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2019 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA,

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.