Search Menu
Photonics Media Photonics Buyers' Guide Photonics EDU Photonics Spectra BioPhotonics EuroPhotonics Industrial Photonics Photonics Showcase Photonics ProdSpec Photonics Handbook
More News
Email Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Comments

Nine Honored at Awards Banquet
Aug 2000
SAN DIEGO, Aug. 4 -- SPIE topped off its 45th Annual Meeting with its Awards Banquet where nine individuals were honored for their contributions to the industry.
   The Society's Gold Medal was given to Robert E. Fischer for his distinguished technical achievements in optics and electro-optics, and his years of service to the Society. Fischer, founder and president of Optics 1, is known for his work in advancing optical science, engineering and scholarship. Fischer has chaired many a conference and committee and as executive editor of OE Reports.
   The Dennis Gabor Award went to Ole J. Lükberg for his development and application of Speckle Pattern Interferometry (TV-holography) and a lifelong commitment to the field of holographic vibration measurement.
   The SPIE Technology Achievement Award was shared by Pallab K. Bhattachary, Agusto L. Guitierrez-Aitken and Kao-Chih for their contributions to the field of integrated optical receivers by the design, growth and development of high-performance 1.55-micron monolithically integrated photoreceivers.
   The Harold E. Edgerton Award went to Robert G. Root for his invention of the electronic argon candle, which dramatically increased the safety, and quality of lighting for high-speed photography.
   Abe Offner was given the A.E. Conrady Award for his lifetime achievements in the field of optical design and testing.
   The George W. Goddard Award went to John A. Hackwell for his leadership in the development of long wavelength infrared hyperspectral imaging for remote sensing.
   The Rudolph Kingslake Medal and Prize 1999 went to Robert D. Fiete for his paper "Image Quality and lFN/p for Remote Sensing." The Kingslake Award Committee as a paper that provides insight into factors that limit imaging performance selected the paper.

ConsumerNine Honored at Awards Banquet

Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy About Us Contact Us
back to top
Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS
©2018 Photonics Media, 100 West St., Pittsfield, MA, 01201 USA,

Photonics Media, Laurin Publishing
x We deliver – right to your inbox. Subscribe FREE to our newsletters.
We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze our website traffic as stated in our Privacy Policy. By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies unless you have disabled them.